

Santa Monica Community College District Budget Planning Committee a Subcommittee of the District Planning and Advisory Council

OCTOBER 15, 2008 MINUTES

A meeting of the Santa Monica Community College Budget Planning Committee, a subcommittee of the District Planning and Advisory Council (DPAC) was held on Wednesday, October 15, 2008 at 2:00 p.m. at Santa Monica College, Library Conference Room (275), 1900 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, California.

- I. <u>Call to Order</u> 2:10 p.m.
- II. Budget Planning Committee Members Chris Bonvenuto, Administration (absent) Randy Lawson, Administration (absent) Eric Oifer, Academic Senate Representative Richard Tahvildaran-Jesswein, Academic Senate Representative Mona Martin, Management Association Representative, Co-Chair Leonard Crawford, Management Association Representative Dennis Frisch (for Howard Stahl), Faculty Association Representative Mitra Moassessi, Faculty Association Representative Howard Stahl, Faculty Association Representative, Co-Chair (absent) Tron Burdick, CSEA Representative Leroy Lauer, CSEA Representative Connie Lemke, CSEA Representative (for Miguel Reves) Bernie Rosenloecher, CSEA Representative Samir Ahmed, Student Representative Darya Barbakova, Student Representative (absent) Kamil Gazizullin, Student Representative (absent) Vicky Qian Jiang, Student Representative

No representatives of the public were in attendance.

- III. Minutes approved with one correction.
- IV. Fiscal Services Update No update
- V. SMC Budget 2008-2011

Discussion on future SMC budgets included the need for direction for the budget committee from Dr. Tsang in order to make recommendations based on possible guidelines (mission, vision, short term and long term goals). In addition, the following motion was made recommending a budget summit:

The Budget Planning Sub-committee recommends that there be a Budget Summit before the end of the semester of leaders across campus to identify budget challenges lying before us and to arrive upon a blueprint for recovery. (Leaders would include Dr. Tsang, Vice Presidents, J.C. Keurjian, members of the Budget Planning Sub-committee)

Moved by:Richard Tahvildaran-JessweinSeconded by:Bernie RosenloecherApproved unanimously

Adjournment at 3:10 p.m.