

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE | MINUTES

Wednesday, April 18, 2012 | 3:00 p.m. Loft Conference Room – Drescher Hall 300-E

Members Present: Guido Davis Del Piccolo, <i>Chair</i> Georgia Lorenz, <i>Vice Chair</i> Jasmine Delgado Keith Fiddmont Diane Gross	Aileen Huang Maral Hyeler Helen LeDonne Emily Lodmer	Walter Meyer Estela Narrie James Pacchioli Deborah Schwyter Jeffery Shimizu	David Shirinyan Edie Spain Gary Taka Marco Vivero Julie Yarrish
Members Absent: Brenda Benson	Ellen Cutler Karin Chan	Narhyn Johnson Randal Lawson	Eric Minzenberg Carol Womack
Others Present: Frank Dawson Nancy Grass Hemmert	Laura Manson	Eric Oifer	Wendy Parise Christine Schultz

MINUTES

(Items for action are listed alphabetically; items for information are listed numerically)

- I. Call to order: The meeting was called to order at 3:12 p.m.
- II. Public Comments*: None
- III. Approval of Minutes:

The minutes of April 4, 2012 were approved as presented.

IV. Chair's report

V. Information items:

(Course Updates)

- I. COM ST II Elements Of Public Speaking (Formerly SPEECH I)
- 2. COM ST 12 Persuasion (Formerly SPEECH 2)
- 3. COM ST 13 Voice And Diction (Formerly SPEECH 3)
- 4. COM ST 14 Oral Interpretation: Performing Literature Across Cultures (Formerly SPEECH 4)
- 5. COM ST 16 Fundamentals Of Small Group Discussion (Formerly SPEECH 6)
- 6. COM ST 21 Argumentation (Formerly SPEECH 11)
- 7. COM ST 35 Interpersonal Communication (Formerly SPEECH 5)
- 8. COM ST 37 Intercultural Communication (Formerly SPEECH 7)

VI. Action items:

(Consent Agenda)

a. **'Speech' discipline renamed 'Communication Studies' (see courses I-8 listed under "Course Updates")** – presented by Frank Dawson and Nancy Grass Hemmert.

The Communication department will be renamed "Communication and Media Studies" "Speech" discipline will be renamed "Communication Studies". Film and Journalism disciplines will retain their heading. Broadcasting should also retain a reference in the catalog that sends students to Media Studies as those classes now are listed under that heading. These changes are necessary in order to better align these offerings at SMC with industry and nationwide standards.

Motion made by: Maral Hyeler The motion passed unanimously. Seconded by: Helen LeDonne

(New Courses)

b. POLI SCI 3: Introduction to Politics: Justice, Power and Agency – presented by Eric Oifer

Motion made by: Marco Vivero The motion passed unanimously. Seconded by: Diane Gross

(Degrees & Certificates)

c. Associate in Science for Transfer (AS-T), Early Childhood Education – presented by Laura Manson and Wendy Parise.

Motion made by: Marco Vivero The motion passed unanimously.

Seconded by: Emily Lodmer

VII. Adjournment:

The meeting was adjourned at 3:40 p.m.

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday, May 2, 2012 at Drescher Hall-Loft 300E at 3:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Georgia Lorenz, Vice Chair GL/gs