Student Affairs Committee

Minutes Wednesday, May 4, 2016

<u>Attendees</u>: Alexandra Tower - Chair, Laurie Guglielmo, Deyna Hearn, Denise Kinsella, Lucy Kluckhohn-Jones (left at 2pm), Karen Legg, Alicia Villalpando, Betty Wong, Nathalie Laille, Johnathon Hughes (Student).

Excused/Absent: Esau Tovar - Vice Chair, Dione Carter, Benny Blaydes, Gail Fukuhara, Heather Haro (Student).

- 1. Call to order: 1:00 pm
- 2. Public Comments

a. Johnathon Hughes shared with the Committee that the Board of Trustees announced in the Board Meeting that the Associated Student Government Directors will be granted priority enrollment.

- 3. New Business
 - a. AR 4410 Rules for Student Conduct
 - i. Deyna advised the Committee that this AR was updated to include the language from Senate Bill No. 186, Chapter 232.
 - ii. The Committee added that students are subject to discipline for the sale, purchase, distribution or receipt of add codes, class seats and academic work, including but not limited to the misconduct described in AR 4411 and AR 4435.
 - iii. The Committee updated language to match Ed. Code 76033 (d) and for clarification.
 - iv. Motion to approve the amended AR by Johnathon Hughes, 2nd by Karen Legg. The Committee voted 8 yes 0 no 0 abstain, to approve the amended AR.
 - v. Johnathon Hughes noted that the newly added misconduct category noted above, should reference misconduct described in AR 4411 and AR 4435.
 - vi. Motion to approve the amended AR, with AR 4435 noted, by Deyna Hearn, 2nd by Laurie Guglielmo. The Committee voted 8 yes - 0 no - 0 abstain, to approve the amended AR.

4. Meeting adjourned at 2:20 pm

Respectfully submitted by Ann Marie Leahy

Date: 5/4/16 .			Vote 1		2:10 PM	Vote	e 2	2:15 PM
					AR 4410: as amended with one			
			AR 4410: as amended		more update			
	-		yes	no	Abstain	yes	no	Abstain
Voting Members	arrival	depart						
Alexandra Tower, Chair	1:00 PM	2:20 PM	х			х		
Esau Tovar, Vice Chair								
Laurie Guglielmo	1:00 PM	2:20 PM	х			х		
Deyna Hearn	1:10 PM	2:20 PM	х			х		
Denise Kinsella	1:00 PM	2:20 PM	х			х		
Lucy Kluckhohn-Jones	1:10 PM	2:00 PM						
Karen Legg	1:00 PM	2:20 PM	х			х		
Alicia Villalpando	1:10 PM	2:20 PM	х			х		
Betty Wong	1:00 PM	2:20 PM	х			х		
Student Representatives								
Johnathon Hughes	1:00 PM	2:20 PM	х			х		
Heather Haro								
Interested Parties (non-voting)								
Benny Blaydes								
Dione (Dee Dee) Carter								
Gail Fukuhara								
Nathalie Laille	1:00 PM	2:20 PM						
Total			8	0	0	8	0	0
1st			Johnathon Hughes			Deyna Hearn		
2nd			Karen Legg			Laurie Guglielmo		
notes:			approved: the amended AR.			approved: the amended AR.		