## Environmental Affairs Committee

## Minutes Wednesday, 7 December 2016

Attendees: Alexandra Tower-Chair, Ferris Kawar-Vice Chair, Natalie Hansen, Michelle King, Kristin Lui-Martinez, Bruce Wyban & student Caro Vilain Excused/Absent: Garen Baghdasarian, Janet Harclerode, Dawn Vaughn, Sharon Nat, Walther Perez

- 1. Call to order: 4:38 pm
- 2. Public Comments:
  - a. Bruce Wyban- uptick in hate-related campus graffiti since the election (please report immediately to Bruce if you see any)
- 3. Approval of minutes:
  - a. Vote #1 16 November 2016 (see below for voting record)
- 4. Welcome video
  - a. Looking for an on-air personality to read the script
  - b. Goal to have the voice-over done by mid-Jan
- 5. College Dashboard.
  - a. Hannah Lawler offered to create an internal dashboard for CEUS we thought it would be good to have items from STARS
  - b. We need to change the metrics for sustainability related and focused courses
- 6. CCC Draft Transfer Model Curriculum
  - a. This will influence the Env. Studies major, but not the Env. Science major, so we should move forward with Env Science revision.
- 7. Updates from CEUS
  - a. Flex day: transportation workshop, including a bike ride with the bike share.
  - b. Bruce and Ferris went to the first session of the sustainability cicle (REV), the goald is to build a shor/mid/long term plan for achieving sustainability goals.
  - c. Discussion about the biggest impact at SMC should now be an impact on students we should survey students about awareness and action.
  - d. ACUPCC- has put out a letter that is signed by many college and university presidents, including Chui Tsang. This updated letter is in support of science-based commitment to "climate repair".
- 8. Announcements:
- Meeting adjourned. 5:30 (see below for voting record)

**Environmental Affairs Committee Attendance & Voting** 

## **Environmental Affairs Committee Attendance & Voting**

Date: 7 Dec 2016		Vote 1			Vote	Vote 2		Vote 3			
Call to Order 4:38PM	all to Order 4:38PM		mins: 16 Nov 2016			pres to sign letter			adjourn		
		yes	no	Abstain	yes	no	Abstain	yes	no	Abstain	
Voting Members	arrival										
	4:15										
Alexandra Tower, Chair	PM	х			х			х			
	4:15										
Ferris Kawar, Vice Chair	PM	Х			Х			Х			
Garen Baghdasarian											
	4:15										
Natalie Hansen	PM	Х			Х			Х			
Janet Harclerode	4:15 PM	x			х			х			
	4:15										
Michelle King	PM	х			х			х			
Kristin Lui-Martinez											
	4:15										
Dawn Vaughn	PM	х			Х			х			
	4:15										
Bruce Wyban	PM	Х			Х			Х			
Student Representatives											
Sharon Nat											
Walther Perez											
Interested Parties (non- voting)											
Faculty:											
Guido Davis del Piccolo											
Kaya Foster, consultant											
Interested Students:											
Total		7	0	0	7	0	0	7	0	0	
1st		Ferris		Ferris			Ferris				
2nd		Kristin		Bruce			Natalie				